TOLL FREE NUMBER: 1800-34567-58   

Certificate in Translation (English-Odia) (CIT)

« Programme List
Programme Name:
Certificate in Translation (English-Odia)
Programme Code:
Programme Fee:
Rs. 2000/-
Min Duration:
6 Month
Max Duration:
2 Year
Medium of Study:
+2 Pass or Equivalent
Programme Coordinator:
Sheetal Purnima (
Programme Details:

Proramme Objectives are to:

  • Develop the skills of translation among the learners  and enhance their employability in various sectors like language and literature  studies, publishing houses,  business, tourism and  journalism fields;
  • Sharpen the skills of practicing translators and enhance their competence
  • Enable the learners to translate texts and speeches from English to Odia and vice-versa
  • Enable the learners to appreciate  the cultural and linguistic  diversity  of their environment

 Broad Course Outline is Basics of Translation: Theory and Practice;   Different Areas and Levels of Functional Translation; Socio-linguistic Aspectsof Translation; Official Translation or Translation of Official. After completing the course, the learners will be able to apply the skills of translation in theday-to-day communication; translate simple literary passages in English into Odia and vice versa for both academic and non-academic purposes.

Course Structure:
CIT - 01 Nature and Scope of Translation
CIT - 02 Functional Translation
CIT - 03 Translation of Official Documents
CIT - 04 Literary Translation

Programme activated in following Study Centres:
  1. Govt. Autonomous College, Angul (0101)
  2. Malyagiri Mahavidyalaya, Pallahara (0102)
  3. District Jail Balasore, Balasore (0203S)
  4. Rajendra (Auto) College, Bolangir (0501)
  5. JKBK College, Cuttack (0701)
  6. Circle Jail Cuttack at Choudwar, Choudwar (0704S)
  7. Babasaheb Ambedkar Degree College, Khajuripada (1002)
  8. S.B.R. Govt. Women's College, Berhampur (1101)
  9. Niranjan Govt. Women's College, Aska (1105)
  10. Circle Jail, Berhampur, Berhampur (1106S)
  11. BJB Autonomous College, Bhubaneswar (1901)
  12. Government College, Koraput (2002)
  13. Circle Jail, Koraput, Koraput (2003S)
  14. Nayagarh (Autonomus) College, Nayagarh (2401)
  15. Samanta Chandra Sekhar (Autonomous) College, Puri (2601)
  16. G.M. University, Sambalpur (2801)
  17. Sambalpur University, Jyoti Vihar (2804)
  18. Circle Jail Sambalpur, Sambalpur (2806S)
  19. Govt. College, Sundargarh (3002)