TOLL FREE NUMBER: 1800-34567-58

Master of Arts (History) (MAHI)

« Programme List
Programme Name : Master of Arts (History)
Programme Code : MAHI
Programme Fee : Rs. 5000/- (Per Year)
Min Duration : 2 Years
Max Duration : 5 Years
Medium of Study : English,Odia
Eligibility : Graduation
Programme Coordinator :
Prof. Patit Paban Mishra
Download Syllabus
Programme Details:
Programme objectives:
  • To produce professional historians committed to the highest levels of historical scholarship.
  • To allow students to develop their historical research skills including archival work and primary source documents.
  • To provide the theoretical and interdisciplinary training in context to historical heritage, public museums and the media, archaeology and policy of historical heritage, historical urban studies.
  • To emphasize learners for a comparative understanding of historical process
Programme outcomes:
After completing the course:
  • Learner will have fair understanding about historical events, processes, and patterns.
  • Will be able to provide evidence of sophisticated awareness of the interrelationship of the human experience and historical perspective.
  • Will be able to demonstrate the importance of historical topics with reference to broader historical context, historiographic trends, or contemporary relevance of historical studies.
  • A learner will have the ability to construct original historical arguments based on primary source material for research.
Duration of the Course – Minimum: 2 years, Maximum: 5 years.
Conduct of Classes: Weekend for 4 hours (preferably on Sundays)
Course Fees: Rs 5000/Year
Eligiblity Criteria: Graduation or +3 Pass in any discipline
Evaluation: Based on Assignments, Term end Examinations
Target Group:
  • Learners who are graduate degree holders in the history stream and want to make history knowledge stronger and look forward for a career in it.
  • The programme targets the teachers working in Schools, personnel working in various institutions associated with history and culture (Museums, Archives, Archaeological Survey etc.)
  • Working people in various organizations and all graduates who are desirous of acquiring a Master’s Degree in History.
Pedagogy: The Course shall be taught through the interactive, Self-guided Learning Materials, OERs as reference materials, Week-end Counseling Classes, Video Lectures, Project Works.
Programme Structure:
MA History Syllabus First Year
Course Code Course Name Credits
MHI 1 Ancient and Medieval Societies 8
MHI 2 Modern World 8
MHI 4 Political Structures in India 8
MHI 5 History of Indian Economy 8
MA History Syllabus -Second Year
MHI 3 Historiography 8
MHI 8 History of Ecology and Environment : India 8
  SEMESTER 4 (Choose 16 credits only)
MPSE 3 Western Political Thought 4
MPSE 4 Social and Political Thought in Modern India 4
MHI 6 Evolution of Social Structures in India through the Ages 8
MHI 9 Indian National Movement 8
MHI 10 Urbanization in India 8
  Total Credits 64
Programme activated in following Study Centres:
  1. Govt. Autonomous College, Angul (0101)
  2. Fakir Mohan Autonomous College, Balasore (0201)
  3. Bhadrak Autonomous College, Bhadrak (0401)
  4. Rajendra (Auto) College, Bolangir (0501)
  5. Ravenshaw University, Cuttack (0703)
  6. Deogarh College, Deogarh (0801)
  7. Sri Krushna Chandra Gajapati (Autonomous) College, Paralakhemundi (1001)
  8. S.B.R. Govt. Women's College, Berhampur (1101)
  9. Swami Vivekananda Memorial (Autonomous) College, Jagatsinghpur (1201)
  10. Narasingh Choudhury (Autonomous) College, Jajpur (1301)
  11. Baruneswar Mohavidyalaya, Arei, Jajpur (1303)
  12. Govt. (Auto) College, Bhawanipatna (1501)
  13. S.M. Govt. Women's College, Phulbani (1601)
  14. Dharnidhar Autonomous College, Keonjhar (1802)
  15. BJB Autonomous College, Bhubaneswar (1901)
  16. Prananath College (Autonomous), Khurda (1902)
  17. Vikram Deb (Auto) College, Jeypore (2001)
  18. Govt. +2 Science College, Malkangiri (2101)
  19. Nayagarh (Autonomus) College, Nayagarh (2401)
  20. National College, Nuapada (2501)
  21. Khariar Autonomous College, Khariar (2502)
  22. Samanta Chandra Sekhar (Autonomous) College, Puri (2601)
  23. G.M. University, Sambalpur (2801)
  24. Kuchinda College, Kuchinda (2803)
  25. Sonepur College, Subarnapur (2901)
  26. Rourkela Government Autonomous College, Rourkela (3001)