TOLL FREE NUMBER: 1800-34567-58

Master of Arts (Sociology) (MASO)

« Programme List
Programme Name : Master of Arts (Sociology)
Programme Code : MASO
Programme Fee : Rs. 5000/- (Per Year)
Min Duration : 2 Years
Max Duration : 5 Years
Medium of Study : English,Odia
Eligibility : Graduation
Programme Coordinator :
Prof. Balgovind Baboo
Download Syllabus
Programme Details:
Programme objectives:
  • To provide advanced sociological knowledge, perspectives and skills to a wide cross section of learners, including those in remote and inaccessible area of the state.
  • To create awareness of the crucial questions raised by classical and contemporary sociological philosophers, and Sociological theories, concepts and methods applied to comprehend these processes.
  • To promote advanced approaches to social theory and a wide range of quantitative and qualitative research methods and to develop the capacity to apply contending theories and a variety of methods to empirical research problems.
  • To enhance effective and competent skills among the learners to apply sociological concepts thereby increasing opportunities of employability.
Programme outcomes:
  • After completing the course, a learner will have fair understanding classical and contemporary sociological theories and they will apply the theories to comprehend key social issues.
  • After completing the course, the learner will be able to demonstrate the sociological methods and will be able to successfully design a research project with sound understanding of the ethics and conduct of the subject.
  • After completing the course, a learner will have the ability to describe about the operating pattern of social structure, culture and institutions.
  • Students will gain essential research, writing, and analytical skills to be utilized in their future professional and academic endeavours.
  • Students will be able to explore career opportunities in Teaching ,Administrative Services, Research, Health, Family and Child Development Services in Criminology and Educational Institutions
Highlights of the Programme:
Duration of the Course – Minimum: 2 years, Maximum: 5years.
Conduct of Classes : Weekend for 4 hours (preferably on Sundays)
Course Fees : Rs 5000/Year
Eligiblity Criteria : Graduation or +3 PASS in any discipline
Evaluation – Based on Assignments, Term end Examinations
Target Group:
Learners with graduate degree in the discipline of Sociology or graduates in any other discipline who have a keen interest and are ready for exploring career opportunities in the fields of Sociology.
Pedagogy:The Course shall be taught through the interactive, Self-guided Learning Materials, OERs as reference materials, Week-end Counseling Classes, Video Lectures, Project Works.
Programme Structure:
MA Sociology Syllabus -First Year (1st and 2nd Semester)
Course Code Course Name Credits
MSO-1  Sociological Theories and Concepts 8
MSO-2  Research Methodologies and Methods 8
MSO-3  Sociology of Development 8
MSO-4 Sociology in India 8
MA Sociology Syllabus -Second Year (3rd and 4th Semester)
MSO-5 Sociology of Education 8
MSO-6 Sociology of Religion 8
MSO-7  Urban Sociology 6
MSO-8 Decentralization and Local Governance 6
MSO-9  Environmental Sociology/Project Work 4
Programme activated in following Study Centres:
  1. Govt. Autonomous College, Angul (0101)
  2. Fakir Mohan Autonomous College, Balasore (0201)
  3. Rajendra (Auto) College, Bolangir (0501)
  4. Model Degree College, Boudh (0601)
  5. Ravenshaw University, Cuttack (0703)
  6. Dhenkanal Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Dhenkanal (0901)
  7. S.B.R. Govt. Women's College, Berhampur (1101)
  8. Khallikote Autonomous College, Berhampur (1104)
  9. Vyasanagar Autonomous College, Jajpur-Road (1302)
  10. Govt. (Auto) College, Bhawanipatna (1501)
  11. BJB Autonomous College, Bhubaneswar (1901)
  12. Vikram Deb (Auto) College, Jeypore (2001)
  13. Nayagarh (Autonomus) College, Nayagarh (2401)
  14. Samanta Chandra Sekhar (Autonomous) College, Puri (2601)
  15. Rayagada Autonomous College, Rayagada (2701)
  16. G.M. University, Sambalpur (2801)
  17. Rourkela Government Autonomous College, Rourkela (3001)