TOLL FREE NUMBER: 1800-34567-58

Master of Arts (Political Science) (MAPS)

« Programme List
Programme Name : Master of Arts (Political Science)
Programme Code : MAPS
Programme Fee : Rs. 5000/- (Per Year)
Min Duration : 2 Years
Max Duration : 5 Years
Medium of Study : English,Odia
Eligibility : Graduation
Programme Coordinator :
Dr. Bijan Kumar Mohapatra
Download Syllabus
Programme Details:
Programme objectives:
  • To promote familiarity with problems in the implementation of specific areas of public policy. Learners would thus acquire skills in political analysis as well as sharpen their critical and analytical abilities.
  • To create awareness of the crucial questions raised by classical and contemporary political philosophers, and of some of the solutions proposed by them to answer fundamental questions about the role of politics in human life.
  • To impart knowledge and develop understanding of nation’s political institutions, political culture, and political ideologies, as well as how public policy is decided upon and implemented.
  • The programme provides option for specialising in Political Theory, Comparative Politics, International Relations and Indian Government and Politics.
  • The aim of the Master’s Degree in Political Science (MAPS) is to provide the learners a sound base in political studies by an in-depth investigation into a broad range of political phenomena at the national, regional and international levels.
Programme outcomes:
After completing the course learners will be able to:
  • Comprehend the basic structures and processes of government systems
  • Assess their knowledge and experience for accumulating and interpreting data applicable to the discipline of political science.
  • Develop ability to formulate and construct logical arguments about political phenomena and ability to evaluate these through empirical and theoretical methods
  • Can opt for enormous opportunities in the federal, provincial, and local governments whose institutions include the executive, legislative and judicial branches, civil society organizations, such as non-governmental organizations (ngos), and in the private sector as policy analyst legislative, assistant, public relations specialist, social media manager, marketing research analyst, political consultant, and many more.
  • Can also prepare themselves for a career in teaching and research
Highlights of the Programme:
Duration of the Course – Minimum: 2 years, Maximum: 5 years.
Weekend for 4 hours (preferably on Sundays)
Conduct of Classes : Weekend for 4 hours (preferably on Sundays)
Course Fees : Rs 5000/Year
Eligibility Criteria : Graduation or +3 Pass in any discipline
Evaluation – Based on Assignments, Term end Examinations and Project work (viva voce + Report) Course Coverage – Theory, Practical and Project Work.
Target Group:
  • Learners with graduate degree in the discipline of Political Science or graduates in any other discipline who have a keen interest and are ready to  explore career opportunities in Political Science such as Political theory, Public Policy, National Politics, International Relations, Comparitive Politics,etc.
  • Learners who wish to know political system and willing to do   research on it.
The Course shall be taught through the interactive,
  • Self-guided Learning Materials,
  • OERs as reference materials,
  • Week-end Counseling Classes,
  • Video Lectures,
  • Project Works
Programme Structure:
Course Code Title of the Course Credits
Semester 1 (16 Credits)
MPS 1 Political Theory 8
MPS 2 International Relations: Theory and Problems 8
Semester 2 (16 Credits)
MPS 3 India: Democracy and Development 8
MPS 4 Comparative Politics: Issues and Trends 8
Semester 3 (Choose any 16 credits only)
MPSE 1 India and the World 4
MPSE 3 Western Political Thought 4
MPSE 4 Social and Political Thought in Modern India 4
MPSE 6 Peace and Conflict Studies 4
MPSE 7 Social Movements and Politics in India 4
MPSE 8 State Politics in India 4
MPA  06 Decentralization and Local Governance 6
MED 2 Sustainable Development: Issues and Challenges 4
Semester 4 (Choose any 16 credits only)
MGPE 7 Non-Violent Movements after Gandhi 4
MGPE 8 Gandhian Approach to Peace and Conflict Resolution 4
MGPE 10 Conflict Management, Transformation & Peace Building  4
MGPE 11 Human Security 4
MGPE 13 Civil Society, Political Regimes and Conflict 4
MED 8 Globalization and Environment 4
MGP 4 Gandhi’s Political Thought   4
Programme activated in following Study Centres:
  1. Govt. Autonomous College, Angul (0101)
  2. Fakir Mohan Autonomous College, Balasore (0201)
  3. Bhadrak Autonomous College, Bhadrak (0401)
  4. Rajendra (Auto) College, Bolangir (0501)
  5. Model Degree College, Boudh (0601)
  6. Ravenshaw University, Cuttack (0703)
  7. Deogarh College, Deogarh (0801)
  8. Sri Krushna Chandra Gajapati (Autonomous) College, Paralakhemundi (1001)
  9. S.B.R. Govt. Women's College, Berhampur (1101)
  10. Khallikote Autonomous College, Berhampur (1104)
  11. Swami Vivekananda Memorial (Autonomous) College, Jagatsinghpur (1201)
  12. Narasingh Choudhury (Autonomous) College, Jajpur (1301)
  13. Vyasanagar Autonomous College, Jajpur-Road (1302)
  14. Baruneswar Mohavidyalaya, Arei, Jajpur (1303)
  15. Govt. (Auto) College, Bhawanipatna (1501)
  16. S.M. Govt. Women's College, Phulbani (1601)
  17. Dharnidhar Autonomous College, Keonjhar (1802)
  18. BJB Autonomous College, Bhubaneswar (1901)
  19. Prananath College (Autonomous), Khurda (1902)
  20. Vikram Deb (Auto) College, Jeypore (2001)
  21. Government College, Koraput (2002)
  22. Balimela College Of Science and Technology, Balimela (2102)
  23. Nayagarh (Autonomus) College, Nayagarh (2401)
  24. National College, Nuapada (2501)
  25. Khariar Autonomous College, Khariar (2502)
  26. Samanta Chandra Sekhar (Autonomous) College, Puri (2601)
  27. G.M. University, Sambalpur (2801)
  28. Kuchinda College, Kuchinda (2803)
  29. Sonepur College, Subarnapur (2901)
  30. Rourkela Government Autonomous College, Rourkela (3001)