TOLL FREE NUMBER: 1800-34567-58

Master of Arts (English) (MAEG)

« Programme List
Programme Name : Master of Arts (English)
Programme Code : MAEG
Programme Fee : Rs. 5000/- (Per Year)
Min Duration : 2 Years
Max Duration : 5 Years
Medium of Study : English
Eligibility : Graduation
Programme Coordinator :
Dr. Sisir Kumar Swain
Download Syllabus
Programme Details:
Programme objectives:
  • To develop proficiency in English Language.
  • To impart  post graduate-level education in english literature so as to enhance the ability to use current theoretical approaches to literary study.
  • To provide advanced English literature and knowledge, perspectives and skills to a wide cross section of learners, including those in remote and inaccessible area of the state.
  • To synthesize learners for a wide understanding of literary characteristics, themes, and/or approaches in several literary texts.
  • To give the learners a sound understanding of English and American literatures and also other new areas in literature such as, Canadian, Australian and Indian English.
  • The pre-requisite of the programme is to equip learners with a good knowledge of reading, comprehension and writing skills
Programme outcomes:
After completing the course: ,
  • Learner will have fair understanding detailing the development and current practices of literary studies, rhetoric etc
  • Will be able to describe rhetoric contextually and comparatively and/or to historicize and theorize emerging forms of composition and expression.
  • Will demonstrate critical and analytical skills in the interpretation and evaluation of literary texts.
  • A learner will have the ability to demonstrate command over written  english, including the abilities to organize and present material proficiently.
  • Students will gain further research, writing, and analytical skills to be utilized in their future professional and academic endeavors.
  • Students will   have career opportunities in Journalism, Interpreter, Advertising, Instructional Designing, Linguistics, Editors.
Highlights of the Programme:
Duration of the Course – Minimum: 2 years, Maximum: 5years.
Conduct of Classes: Weekend for 4 hours (preferably on Sundays)
Course Fees: Rs 5000/Year
Eligiblity Criteria: Graduation or +3 Pass in any discipline
Evaluation– Based on Assignments , Term end Examinations .
Target Group:
  • The graduate learners of any discipline who want to improve their proficiency in English language and, those who have a genuine interest in literature.
  • The learners who have a keen interest for the language and look forward for career prospect in it.
The Course shall be taught through the interactive, Self-guided Learning Materials, OERs as reference materials, Week-end Counseling Classes, Video Lectures, Project Works.
Programme Structure:
Syllabus-First Year (1st and 2nd Semesters)
Course Code Course Name Credits
MEG 1 British Poetry 8
MEG 2 British Drama 8
MEG 3 British Novel 8
MEG 4 Aspects of Language 8
Syllabus -Second Year (3rd and 4th Semester)
SEMESTER 3 (Choose 16 credits only)
MEG 5 Literary Criticism and Theory(Compulsory) 8
MEG 6 American Literature 8
MEG 7 Indian English Literature 8
MEG 8 New Literatures in English 8
SEMESTER 4 ( Choose 16 credits only)
MEG 9 Australian Literature 8
MEG 10 English Studies in India 8
MEG 11 American Novel 8
MEG 12 A Survey Course in 20th Century Canadian Literature 8
MEG 14 Contemporary Indian Literature in English Translation 8
Total Cumulative Credits 64
Programme activated in following Study Centres:
  1. Govt. Autonomous College, Angul (0101)
  2. Fakir Mohan Autonomous College, Balasore (0201)
  3. Bhadrak Autonomous College, Bhadrak (0401)
  4. Rajendra (Auto) College, Bolangir (0501)
  5. Ravenshaw University, Cuttack (0703)
  6. Deogarh College, Deogarh (0801)
  7. Sri Krushna Chandra Gajapati (Autonomous) College, Paralakhemundi (1001)
  8. S.B.R. Govt. Women's College, Berhampur (1101)
  9. Narasingh Choudhury (Autonomous) College, Jajpur (1301)
  10. Vyasanagar Autonomous College, Jajpur-Road (1302)
  11. Laxmi Narayan College, Jharsuguda (1402)
  12. Govt. (Auto) College, Bhawanipatna (1501)
  13. Kendrapada Autonomous College, Kendrapada (1701)
  14. Dharnidhar Autonomous College, Keonjhar (1802)
  15. BJB Autonomous College, Bhubaneswar (1901)
  16. Prananath College (Autonomous), Khurda (1902)
  17. Vikram Deb (Auto) College, Jeypore (2001)
  18. MPC Autonomous College, Baripada (2201)
  19. Nayagarh (Autonomus) College, Nayagarh (2401)
  20. National College, Nuapada (2501)
  21. Samanta Chandra Sekhar (Autonomous) College, Puri (2601)
  22. G.M. University, Sambalpur (2801)
  23. Sonepur College, Subarnapur (2901)
  24. Rourkela Government Autonomous College, Rourkela (3001)