TOLL FREE NUMBER: 1800-34567-58

Master of Arts (Journalism) (MJMC)

« Programme List
Programme Name : Master of Arts (Journalism)
Programme Code : MJMC
Programme Fee : Rs. 5000/- (Per Year)
Min Duration : 2 Years
Max Duration : 5 Years
Medium of Study : English,Odia
Eligibility : Graduation
Programme Coordinator :
Jyoti Prakash Mohapatra
Programme Details:
Download Syllabus
Programme objectives:
  • Necessary skills to work in various media including print, electronic and web.
  • Concept and Process of communication including theories and models of communication
  • Understanding of laws related to media and media ethics.
  • Understanding the synergic relation between media and society.
  • Conducting Communication Research
Programme outcomes:
After completing the course, student will be able to:
  • Have fair understanding about various media and how to negotiate them
  • Work  in various media including print, electronic, web and social media.
  • Have fair understanding about the synergic relationship between media and society.
  • Have the ability to conduct communication research
  • Develop a critical understanding about media as a discipline and also media as an instrument of change.
  • Pursue a career in print journalism, photo journalism, television production and writing, web journalism, radio production, social media, public relations, advertising, event management and film making. Work in pr or advt. Sector
  • Prepare themselves for a career in teaching and research.
Duration of the Course – Minimum: 2 years, Maximum: 5years.
Conduct of Classes: Weekend for 4 hours (preferably on Sundays)
Course Fees: Rs 5000/Year
Eligibility Criteria: Graduation or +3 Pass in any discipline
Evaluation – Based on Assignments (theory+ practical), Term end Examinations (theory + practical) and Project work (viva voce + Report) Course Coverage – Theory, Practical and Project Work.
Target Group:
  • Working Journalists
  • Students want to pursue journalism as a career
Pedagogy: The Course shall be taught through the interactive, Self-guided Learning Materials, OERs as reference materials, Week-end Counseling Classes, Video Lectures, Project Works.
Programme Structure:
Semester – I: 16 Credits (4 Credits per course)
Course-1:    Communication Concepts, History, Law and Ethics
Course-2:    Reporting
Course-3:    Editing
Course-4:    Radio & TV Journalism
Semester – II: 16 Credits (4 Credits per course)
Course – 5   : Dissertation                
Course – 6   : Media Sociology          
Course – 7   : Development Communication                  
Course – 8   : New Media & Computer application
Semester – III: 16 Credits (4 Credits per course)
Course – 9   : Communication Theory                           
Course – 10 : Media Sociology
Course – 11 : Communication Research
Course – 12 : Dissertation and Audio-visual project

Semester – IV: 16 Credits (4 Credits per course)
Course – 13: Corporate Communication                       
Course –14: Advanced Photo-Journalism
Course – 15: International and Intercultural Communication
Course – 16: Specialization (Students need to opt any one)
  • Media Management
  • Multimedia
  • Film Studies
Programme activated in following Study Centres:
  1. Govt. Autonomous College, Angul (0101)
  2. Fakir Mohan Autonomous College, Balasore (0201)
  3. Bhadrak Autonomous College, Bhadrak (0401)
  4. JKBK College, Cuttack (0701)
  5. Ravenshaw University, Cuttack (0703)
  6. Dhenkanal Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Dhenkanal (0901)
  7. S.B.R. Govt. Women's College, Berhampur (1101)
  8. BJB Autonomous College, Bhubaneswar (1901)
  9. Vikram Deb (Auto) College, Jeypore (2001)
  10. Samanta Chandra Sekhar (Autonomous) College, Puri (2601)
  11. G.M. University, Sambalpur (2801)
  12. Rourkela Government Autonomous College, Rourkela (3001)